PEACE

I have been thinking lately, about all the moments and the activities I’ve been surrounded with in recent times.

It has become quite uncertain, as to the period I might be living out; whether my past or my future. Scratch that…my inspirational side tells me I might be living my past.

“If you are depressed you are living in the past.

If you are anxious you are living in the future.

If you are at peace you are living in the present.”- Lao Tzu

Here scrolling through my album (picture album since 2013), and I’m having surges of nostalgic realizations. But one quote just hit me (I’ve been a ‘quote collector’ for years)…

 

Quote Picture

 

It then occurred to me: ‘I might have made some mistakes…’ some mistakes with the goals I set; some mistakes with the decisions/indecisions I took; some mistakes with the thought processes I put myself through….In a nutshell, some mistakes with the ‘experiences’ I’ve had so far.

There was a time in my life, I believe 2009 or so; all I craved for were ‘experiences’. I wanted to live out life for myself…I wanted leadership experience, corporate experience, ministry experience and so on.

What I never understood then was the ‘wear and tear’ that comes along with a ‘plethora’ of experience(s)…and the need for a reasonable balance. Don’t get me wrong at this stage though, I have loved my experience(s) and the decisions I have made; they’ve enabled me grow over the years…simply epic! I can totally write a book about them (matter of fact; I am writing a book about them) 🙂

My point today is…the mistake(s) I may have made may have been my inability to connect one experience to another. It wasn’t enough to fast-track one moment just because of the need to experience the other. I should have taken more time to breathe in every moment I was in.

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the moments that take our breath away.”- Maya Angelou

I know this quote from the depth of my heart; I don’t need to look it up today; because there was a moment in my life when I basked in ‘quotes’ and more quotes.

So, I’m going to take my time this moment to bask in the experiences I have been having lately; connect every dot possible; live in the present and enjoy in retrospect my past experiences, while  hoping for that great future.

Yes indeed! I may have made some mistakes, but today I learn from them; I may not be where I want to be, but I love where I am presently; I may have a dreamy idea of what the future holds, but I know Who holds the future (God Almighty)!

Because I know He is watching over all the moments of my life (past, present, future, eternal); and I know He loves me so bad…I will forgive myself for all the mistakes I will still make (in the process of living a godly experiential life) 🙂

So, when that day comes to tell my story of how nothing could hold down my moments; I would say among other words, it was Grace and more Grace!!!

Because indeed…

“Mistakes are painful when they happen, but years later a collection of mistakes is what is called experience.”- Dennis Waitley

 

 

16 thoughts on “PEACE

  1. Victory Odunjo says:

    “Yes indeed! I may have made some mistakes, but today I learn from them; I may not be where I want to be, but I love where I am presently; I may have a dreamy idea of what the future holds, but I know Who holds the future (God Almighty)!” > Super deep one Blessing, I have found out that we must learn to love where we are and desire to grow from there too. We mustn’t get the present messed up, we must appreciate every bit. It’s also quite important that we hold on to Who knows the future now, so He can lead us to what He has in store for us. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    • oyide says:

      Awwww…this is epic! When I saw the extract from the post as the beginning to the comment, I literally started smiling 🙂
      Thank you so much great mind! I totally love this line “We mustn’t get the present messed up, we must appreciate every bit…”
      This is exactly what I will do this season of my life and beyond…God grant me the grace.
      May God perfect all that concerns every single one of us. Amen. Indeed, we know He holds our future 🙂

      Like

    • oyide says:

      Yay!!! Thank you so much great mind! You know it’s good to know you 🙂
      God bless you dear…thank you for reading the piece and falling in love with the quotes as much as I did.
      Amen! Amen! Amen! More grace to you too dear 🙂

      Like

  2. queen says:

    This is deep and inspiring… leaving the past has eventually become easier for me but Lord help me with my anxiety (living in the future) cos I have been commanded by God to not be anxious for anything.
    Really great piece girl… much love

    Liked by 1 person

    • oyide says:

      Yeah…I can imagine dear. It’s definitely Phil. 4:6-7…Amen!
      Awwww…I’m grateful to God for His grace upon your life 🙂 He will continually perfect all that concerns you in Jesus’ name.
      Love you dear.

      Like

  3. Rosemary Okoro says:

    Well for me, you have made no mistakes at all afterall you have been a daughter so dear to my heart and indeed the family. Lets see it this way that as a young lady who has left her comfort zone you are bound to experience a new lease of life. But as an eagle and a child of God you will surely overcome and find your feet on the solid rock Jesus. Life’s experiences are normal and they are part of the growing up process. With God on your side you will surely overcome and have a good testimony. Cheers and look up to your guide and Saviour Jesus always. He will never leave you nor forsake you. Remain blessed.

    Thanks and kind regards, Rosemary Okoro.

    Liked by 1 person

    • oyide says:

      Awwwww….Thank you Ma. I’m literally smiling by reason of your words of affirmation 🙂 God bless you Ma. Amen…Amen…Amen to all your prayers.
      I love you so much Mum. God bless you real good *hugs*

      Like

  4. Chanel Bailey says:

    This piece is prevalent to me at this time. I am getting ready to write on some mistakes that I have made and have felt hesitant to share but that’s just what the enemy wants. I have gone through these this stuff for such a time as this to help minister to others. Thanks for writing this. It really is truly inspirational. Zig Ziglar is one of my favorite inspirational speakers as well:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • oyide says:

      Awwww…this is so lovely. Thank you so much for dropping this comment 🙂
      Indeed, I will be so glad to read what you would write on some mistakes so far, I know it will be highly inspirational.
      May the Lord give you strength and grace. Amen.
      Zig Ziglar is a great mind! He’s one of my favorite ‘quote compilers’.
      This is great. We should do it again and again….Cheers 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

